Each May, Preservation Massachusetts holds an awards dinner to recognize and celebrate the efforts and accomplishments of those individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to preserving the Commonwealth’s historic resources.

Since 1988, Preservation Massachusetts’ highest honor, the Paul E. Tsongas Award has recognized the very best in historic preservation efforts, individuals and achievements across the Commonwealth.  This year, our awards celebrate the success, leadership and accomplishments of Women in Preservation.  It will also mark the re-naming of our highest award to the Paul & Niki Tsongas Award, as a fitting tribute and recognition of Congresswoman Tsongas’ own contributions to historic preservation and the legacy of the Tsongas Family.

The 2016 Tsongas Awards celebrated the successes, advancements and accomplishments of Women in Preservation!  Looking across the landscape of historic preservation, cultural heritage, history, architecture and myriad efforts to preserve our past and enhance our collective quality of life, the number of women who have headed up these efforts and been the pioneers to preserve and retain our collective history for our future generations is remarkable.  It is women who emerged, first as the historians, then the community activists, urban warriors, the professionals and now the innovators who are bringing preservation as a movement into the 21st century!

We were honored to recognize them for their achievements and inspirational contributions to historic preservation. Click below to watch!


See the pictures of this inspirational evening! 


2016 sponsors 1

2016 sponsors 2
2016 sponsors 3
2016 sponsors 4

Preservation Massachusetts Annual

Tsongas Awards Dinner

May 4, 2016 at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel, Boston

Ticket sales are closed.



Past Honorees

The Paul E. Tsongas Award / The Paul & Niki Tsongas Award

In honor of its namesake, the Paul E. Tsongas Award recognizes those who have played an extraordinary role in promoting the preservation of our Commonwealth’s past for the benefit of the future.  In 2016 the award was renamed the Paul & Niki Tsongas Award, to recognize and celebrate Congresswoman Tsongas’ own contributions to historic preservation and the legacy of the Tsongas Family.

The Mayor Thomas M. Menino Legacy Award

This award was created in 2015 to honor the incredible contribution that Mayor Menino made to the historic preservation community and celebrate projects that are transformative, create community partnerships and preserve the best of our cities and towns to make something good for the future.

  • 2016 – The Lofts at 30 Pine, Gardner
  • 2015 – The Bruce Bolling Building, Dudley Square, Roxbury

The Charles W. Eliot Award

The Eliot Award recognizes organizations with exceptional vision and excellence in planning.

  • 2009 – Harvard University’s Office of Sustainability
  • 2009 – The Trustees of Reservations
  • 2008 – (No award given)
  • 2007 – Save Fenway Park

The Robert H. Kuehn, Jr. Award

Created in 2009, this award is reflective of the innovative and unique legacy of Robert H. Kuehn, Jr., recognizing extraordinary projects that meld collaborative partnerships with creative and cutting-edge ideas for the rehabilitation and active reuse of historic buildings.

  • 2009 – MassInnovation for Anwelt Apartments, Fitchburg
  • 2009 – Overlook Associates LLC & Nobis Engineering, Inc. for the Nobis Engineering Building, Lowell